Projects

Introduction

A project is an organized plan of action aimed at achieving a particular goal. As such, it is comprised of a series of tasks or objectives that lead to that goal.

Using our previous scenario, the goal is to come up with a comprehensive output about Van Gogh as an artist; as a student, you would create a project that will allow you to learn and eventually produce a great research paper about Van Gogh.

A project therefore enables you to concentrate and work on each task until you are able to achieve your project goal/s. The work is organized, well-planned, and with a definite path towards completion.

When To Use Projects

Projects can be used for all kinds of work to be done.

Let’s say you’re a software developer building an app. You can use projects to break down different large aspects of the work into actionable pieces: Planning and Research, Implementation, Marketing, etc.

Another more common example is planning a family vacation. You and your spouse can share a project where you plan, organize, and implement your ideal itinerary.

While it is possible to work on your own, projects are a great way to bring together collaborative effort. On Cloudship, you can work on a project with up to 50 members. Furthermore, it’s much easier to delegate tasks, work efficiently, and meet deadlines with more people on your team.

How to Use Projects

After logging in to Cloudship, the first thing to do is to create a project. Click on the “Add project” button under the Projects list. You will then add/edit the project’s details, such as the project title and description. You can then choose to add members and enable/disable time tracking.

Once you have created a project, you can begin adding tasks to your Todo list. Click on the task box, type the task name, and press Enter. You can learn more about tasks in the Tasks section of the user guide.

Beside “Project details” is a briefcase icon, which lists several options. Clicking on this button allows you to do the following:

  • Close the project
  • Delete the project
  • Export existing tasks as an Excel spreadsheet

Only administrators can edit a project’s status.

On Cloudship, all new and current projects and your assigned tasks appear under the Projects tab, which gives an overview of each project’s progress. The first column lists the project’s name, creation date and history. The succeeding columns displays elapsed time (h:mm), the number of pending tasks, the number of flagged tasks, and the number of completed tasks.

However, if you select a project from the sidebar on the Dashboard, you will see the list of tasks assigned to all members of the project.

Project Invitations

When someone is invited to a project, he receives an email notification and an invitation will be shown under Project Invitations (the second icon on the top left of the screen).

Project members can choose to join or leave a project. To leave a project, click on a project, visit Members, click on the gear button, and select “Leave project” to do so. Take note that the owner of the project cannot leave the project he creates.

Project Roles and Permissions

There are two types of project roles, each with its set of permissions and limitations.

  • Administrator – the owner or creator of the project. He or she has full permissions and is able to view and edit tasks of other members of the project. He or she can also assign other members the admin role, if necessary.
  • Standard User – a standard member of a project with limited permissions. He or she is added to a project by an administrator.

The following table shows the actions allowed for each role:

Action Administrator Standard User
View project details (title, description)
Edit project details (title, description)
Modify project status (archive, open, delete)
View and edit project resources
View project members
Add/remove/edit project members
Assign tasks to other project members
View and edit tasks
View and edit other members’ tasks

 

Task and Resource Visibility Within a Shared Project

Every task in a shared project has a unique owner assigned to it. By default, the person that creates the task is the owner. You can change this by right-clicking a task and selecting “Change project/owner” to change the task owner.

Administrators of a project can see tasks assigned to all of the users of a project, while standard users can only see tasks he or she is assigned to.

Resources are shared and viewed by all of the members of the project. This means that both administrators and standard users can view or edit them as necessary.